Sunday, December 11, 2011

Various - This ain't no white Christmas (2011)

01 - william bell - everyday will be like a holiday
02 - the diplomats of solid sound - let it snow
03 - clarence carter - back door santa
04 - lefties soul connection - back door santa
05 - lefties soul connection - back door santa (instrumental)
06 - detroit junior - christmas day
07 - swing republic - boogie woogie santa (ft patti page)
08 - mr president - its christmas time
09 - little john - give a little for christmas
10 - the iron phoenix - natty dread christmas (the thing 7inch)
11 - gary walker - santa's got a brand new bag
12 - james brown - merry christmas baby
13 - amos milburn ft. charles brown - christmas comes but once a year
14 - mighty sparrow - post card to sparrow
15 - bunny & skully - white christmas
16 - sugar minott - christmas time
17 - king kong - nice christmas (firehouse)
18 - scooby doo - christmas time (edit)
19 - binky griptite & sharon jones - aint no chimneys extended
20 - charles bradley - every day is a christmas (when i'm)
21 - owen gray - collins greetings
22 - silvertones - bling bling christmas
23 - james brown - merry christmas, i love you
24 - mighty botai - njoeng jari (surinam)
25 - kwadwo donkoh - soul of xmas
26 - outro - pizzicato five - merry christmas

This is my third Christmas compilation after 2007 and 2008. I actually thought that I would be running out of good Christmas Grooves - the ones we like so much: sweet & funky! But surprisingly I dug out another bunch of Christmas Scorchers. I am quite satisfied with this years compilation - lots of good songs, very uptempo, a little bit of everything. This year Santa (Satan?!) is definitely wearing his dancing boots! Actually two of my all-time favourite Reggae Christmas songs are on this compilation: „The Iron Phoenix - Natty Dread Christmas“ and „Scooby Doo - Christmas Time“. What a surprise when I heard these two songs for the first time – both of them „rare as a hen's tooth“ - and you don't find them on the usual Trojan Christmas Compilations. But what killer tunes! Luckily „The Iron Phoenix - Natty Dread Christmas“ recently got repressed as a nice quality 7inch on the UK Observer label. Couldn't find much info on the Scooby Doo song on the Internet – but would love to buy the original 12inch or 45 (I have it as an extended 6 minute something long mix. I am gonna share some of my older „Beatz & Carrots“ compilations here on the blog soon – you can find the extended version on one of the compilations). Another nice song – again a Reggae tune - is „Christmas Time“ - a dubby good Christmas greeting from the recently departed but NEVER forgotten Lincoln Barrington ‘Sugar’ Minott with an off-key children choir. Ride on Sugar and rest in peace in the knowledge that your sounds, lyrics & message will continue to spread around the world. A song I would have loved to include on this years compilation is Macka B's Christmas Cancelled. Love the lyrics – but find it musically rather boring. I don't know much about the music from Surinam – but the Christmas song „Njoeng Jari“ from Mighty Botai is just beautiful! Lovely Caribbean sunshine & easiness... Many thanks to my friend Ratje Toe for sharing this song with me! And last but not least: Jewel Lombardo - Christmas Melody. I want this Christmas song as a quality rip for Christmas. Of course the original 7inch would also do it. „Seems“ to be some killer and ultra rare Popcorn. Really like it... Could listen to that lo-fi youtube rip for hours. „Every Day is a Christmas“ - Daptone's latest holiday 45 is one of those songs that grows on me every time I listen to it. Pure Soul! Charles Bradley, backed by the ever-soulful Menahan Street Band invites you to have a good time: “We having a party. It’s Christmas Eve and everyone’s invited. Come on in and have a good time.” I couldn't have said it better! So I will leave you here - wishing a merry Christmas to all my readers, have a good time with family & friends – and don't forget to hit the download button...


(This compilation fits perfectly on one CD - just click "NO PAUSE BETWEEN TRACKS" when you are going to burn it - and the CD will be exactly 79:56 long... I will try to upload my Christmas compilations from 2007 and 2008 during the next few days – so stay tuned!)

Giving proper credits... The cover/picture I shared with this compilation is from Mr. Dolemite Rudy Ray Moore. It's from his 1971 Christmas album "This ain't no white Christmas!" (which also helped me to find a not too merry sounding title for this years Christmas compilation). One great, very typical Rudy Ray Moore line from this album is: "You know, if the pilgrims, when they landed on Plymouth Rock, would have shot a wildcat instead of a turkey, baby, we would be eatin' pussy on Thanksgiving." Has nothing to do with Christmas - but that's Rudy Ray Moore! Any excuse to make a sexual remark is good enough...