Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Beatz & Carrots #5 (February 2012)

01 - mop mop - the return of the king
02 - buddy sativa - una peripecia
03 - jeremy sole's musaics - skalypso vamp (nickodemus remix)
04 - alberto beltran - cana brava
05 - anthony b - dem can't stop we from talk (bleepolar's bogota cumbia remix)
06 - badboe - one of those days (original mix)
07 - dj rudd - to the beats yall (old school edit)
08 - tommy mccook & the supersonics - testify
09 - mr scruff and quantic - its dancing time
10 - muddy waters - worried mind (jeremy sole remix)
11 - unknown - taganga soun final efectos
12 - chambaku - su majestad (dj.luk)
13 - jazzanova - i can see (doctor stereo - felipee - skazzanova edit)
14 - pedders - boma yea
15 - fort knox five - another message to rudy (fort knox five edit)
16 - syclops - where's jason's k
17 - beverly road all stars - im still in love
18 - aged in harmony - you’re a melody (extended disco)
19 - outro - peter tosh - bombaclaat

Here is Beatz & Carrots #5 for your musical pleasure. Starting with The Return of the King by Mop Mop - which serves as an intro to this months compilation. And what an intro! The second song is the brilliant Una Peripecia by Buddy Sativa, a bossa-swinging-jazz-exotique-jungle-latin tune – which takes over from Mop Mop's mysterious intro – and gives the listener a very first impression in which direction this compilation is heading... And bam! Track #3 takes no prisoners! The amazing "Skalypso Vamp" by Jeremy Sole's Musaics which got the right remix treatment by Nickodemus. Groovy. Swinging. Steel Drums. Discolypso. Global Grooves. Tropical Sunshine. Finally got myself a good copy of this song. This one can be played out loud! Track #5 is Bleepolar's Bogota Cumbia remix of Anthony B's Dem Can't Stop We From Talk from Subatomic Sound's "Dem Can't Stop We From Talk" remix album. Dancehall meets Cumbia – nothing new to us! Masterful remix straight outta Colombia. Heavy Banger! My favourite remix from that album – and luckily shared for free on their soundcloud page! So we can all listen to it now... Track #7 is DJ Rudd's To The Beats Y'all (Old School Edit) – a soulful groovin', kickin' & breaking song with some nice horn action! Which was finally made downloadable via Ghettofunk's Spinforths Weekly Soundcloud Scour. "Testify" - track #8 is by Tommy Mccook and the Supersonics. Cool Cool Rocksteady! And some masterful saxophone playing! On track #10 we get Jeremy Sole masterfully remixing Muddy Waters Worried Mind. I love his remixes. It's never too much and never too little... just the right amount of ingredients. I wrote about this remix in an earlier post here. The Pedders "Boma Yea" - track #14 was a real surprise! I came across it via DJ BushBeats very good Groove comes in many Colors mix on soundcloud. It's a remix of "Boma Yeah" by Ras Michael & The Sons of Negus. The Ras Michael song is a deep deep meditation. Beautiful and haunting. But I also really like the remix - which adds a new dimension to the song - deep heavy sounds for the good dancefloor! If you need an introduction to the Nyahbingi sounds of Ras Michael – check his brilliant masterpiece Dadawah -Peace and Love (1974) which just got re-released by Dug Out records. Track #15 is a Fort Knox Five Edit of the ever great song "A Message To Rudy" by the Specials. Another reason why I like this edit is because of the intro telling us "Roots Music can never die..." Track #16 is Syclops "Where's Jason's K" - a zany electronic dance song – "which is basically nothing more than an inspired and stupidly addictive bassline for most of the track's six and a bit minutes. In the middle there's a crescendo of floaty effects, weird shit and an electronic organ all reminiscent of ‘70s funk wigouts, but 'K' is all about wilfully being hammered by bassline" ( Track #18 is the extended Disco version of "Aged In Harmony – You're A Melody", which was released on the "deep in my crates" Under The Influence Vol. 1 CD, compiled by DJ Red Greg. This is what the liner notes say: "'Aged in Harmony' were a Detroit Michigan based group, who released a sequence of three great 45s on the short lived Mor-Tones record label all off which have become very desirable in recent years. The song was also recorded by Gary and The Browns simply entitled 'Melo Melody'. I remember seeing 'You're A Melody' on various occasions online only a few years ago going for very little money. Since then it has gained plenty of interest, which has caused the price to soar and it has been commanding a 3-figure price tag. Regardless of value, it's a very nice mid-tempo disco soul song..." - Yes! It's a very nice mid-tempo disco soul song that just has that little something special to it. And I love it!


PS: This compilation fits perfectly on one CD – just click "NO PAUSE BETWEEN TRACKS" - and the CD will be exactly 79:38 long – so burn it & share it...


  1. overdose overdose keep on keep on great job!

  2. Thanks for pumping the Subatomic Sound System beats and providing people with the links to our Anthony B release. Subatomic Sound System is heading out on tour with Lee Scratch Perry in the US after which we stop by LA to do a show with Jeremy Sole May 31 @ Zanzibar, Afrofunke. So you might get a mix like this live in the session!

  3. Track 19, has Peter Tosh explaining us the "meaning" of the word "bombaclaat". I found this explanation somewhere on the web:

    1. bombaclat:

    A Jamaican expression meant to convey shock or surprise
    "I won $50,000 in the lotto!"

    2. bumbaclot

    A cloth or rag used to wipe ones anal region. However, most Jamaicans
    use it as a substitute for the word f*ck to express anger or surprise.
    Bumbaclot! Dem tek mi rolex and mi new links!!

  4. great work on all 5 compos & afro disco compo! I've just discovered your blog & it's wonderful how much we share in musical taste! thanx!!

    1. Hi, thx for your comment/feedback. Very much appreciated. Hopefully soon I will be able to share a follow up to the "Palmwine Grooves & Disco" compilation... found some amazing african, caribbea, tropical disco sunshine... :) Cheers...

  5. Great compilation again mr.dubme!!!

  6. thx a lot for making these compiles, great all of them, especially track 7 Dj Rudd xlnt, what a sound...

  7. abtomic & flymusic - thx for your feedback. Yeah. track #7 by DJ Rudd has something special about it... ;-)